Prioritising Sustainability: Investment in
eco-friendly construction technologies,
and green energy pays dividends

23 May 2023
Deputy Vice Principal | Heriot-Watt University Dubai

Tadhg O’Donovan

Since his appointment as the DVP – Academic Leadership in August 2021, Prof O’Donovan works closely with the Vice Principal to develop and lead plans in line with ‘Strategy 2025’ – that articulates how the University should continue increasing its global presence and impact through its campuses and partnerships and by focusing on its strengths in research, teaching and learning.

Professor O’Donovan leads the Research Institute of Mechanical, Process and Energy Engineering (IMPEE). IMPEE’s research is diverse and tackles challenges in sustainability, healthcare technology, intelligent manufacture and energy systems.

Prior to joining Heriot-Watt’s Dubai campus, Prof O’Donovan was an Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the Edinburgh campus. He has been in academia for a total of 17 years now.

Prof O’Donovan has a research background in thermal science focusing on solar energy conversion, systems design optimisation and integration and storage technology. He has established collaborative links with industry and employs a techno-economic approach to support various renewable energy companies.

To date, Prof O’Donovan has published more than 80 research papers in peer reviewed conferences and high impact factor journals. He has an established record of teaching innovation, and his innovative teaching practices have earned him the prestigious Graduates’ Teaching Award in 2013 and 2017.

Prof O’Donovan represents Heriot-Watt University for the Energy theme of the Scottish Universities Physics Alliance (SUPA) and is the Director of the Scottish Institute for Solar Energy Research (SISER) as well as the Honorary Education Secretary of the Energy Institute in the Middle East.

He received his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from Trinity College Dublin in 2005 and continued there as a Postdoctoral Research Fellow and lecturer before joining Heriot-Watt University.